Weather Report – 8.30 – Vinyl LP


Το προϊόν αυτό θα είναι διαθέσιμο 16/06/2023.







Release Date


Κωδικός προϊόντος: DR16921 Κατηγορίες: ,

Barcode: 8719262030886

Coloured Vinyl, High Quality, Gatefold Sleeve

8:30 is the second live album by the jazz fusion group Weather Report, issued in 1979 and recorded at the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium, California. It was recorded live except for side D, which was studio recorded. It features a live version of the group’s signature piece “Birdland” and won a Grammy Award for Best Jazz Fusion Performance.

The album takes its name from the band’s habit of starting their performance at 8:30 pm. At the time of the tour, the band was a quartet who would take the stage continuously for around two and a half hours, each of the members taking a solo spot to give not just a virtuoso performance, but to give the others a break. Wayne Shorter sometimes plays percussion instead of saxophone on stage, and on one of the studio tracks, the calypso inspired “Brown Street”, Joe Zawinul’s son Erich plays percussion along with Erskine and Pastorius.

The 8:30 tour saw Weather Report at the height of their commercial success, and the playlist leant heavily on the recent successes, “Black Market”, “Birdland” and “Teen Town”. Jaco Pastorius played a notable solo, “Slang”, which melded a multi-part bass solo using tape loops, leading into references to “Third Stone from the Sun” by Jimi Hendrix, “Portrait of Tracy” from his own solo work, then onto “(The Hills are Alive with) The Sound of Music”. He finished off playing his bass with its own strap.

8:30 is available as a limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on red coloured vinyl.

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • Gatefold sleeve
  • Live album from 1979 recorded at the Santa Monica Civic Auditorium, CA
  • Featuring Joe Zawinul, Wayne Shorter, Jaco Pastorius and Peter Erskine
  • Includes a live performance of the band’s biggest jazz hit “Birdland”
  • Limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on red coloured vinyl

Side A
1. Black Market
2. Scarlet Woman

Side B
1. Teen Town
2. A Remark You Made
3. Slang
4. In A Silent Way

Side C
1. Birdland
2. Thanks For The Memory
3. Badia / Boogie Woogie Waltz Medley

Side D
1. 8:30
2. Brown Street
3. The Orphan
4. Sightseeing

YouTube video

3121 foto1 product xl 5 Weather Report - 8.30 - Vinyl LP
Weather Report – 8.30 – Vinyl LP